MEDIA RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: 27 September 2019

Changes to the Ottawa Police Services Board Membership

Ottawa—The Ottawa Police Services Board wishes to advise the community of recent changes to the membership on the Board.

Board Chair and Councillor Diane Deans recently received a diagnosis of ovarian cancer and has taken a medical leave of absence effective September 23, 2019. Vice Chair L.A. (Sandy) Smallwood will be Acting Chair in her absence. She will maintain her seat on the Board.

Councillor Keith Egli has stepped down from the Board in light of recent medical issues and effective September 25, 2019, City Council has appointed Mayor Jim Watson in his stead.

The Ottawa Police Services Board is the civilian body responsible for governing the Ottawa Police Service. It is responsible for ensuring the provision of adequate and effective police services to City of Ottawa residents.

- 30 -

For additional information, please contact Krista Ferraro, Executive Director, Ottawa Police Services Board, at 580-2424, ext. 21618.